Smokin’

no smoking

 

The Euro-trash no smoking zone got bigger today as France joined the ranks of nanny states that are determined to save their children citizens from themselves. I heard on BBC World Service this morning that 70% of frogs, including 50% of smokers, are in favour of the smoking ban. Unbelievable.

How have people become so dependent and deranged that they need their governments to look after them and make decisions for them?

I am not going to go into what is wrong with frogs – I have already established that they are mostly communists (although they do make wonderful cheeses and beautiful handbags). I am also not going to continue the argument about health v. self-determination that I wrote about 15 months ago. Instead, I am going to share with you one of the things I love about the Czechs.

Brussels, Jan 30 (ČTK) – Czech smokers are among the most considerate in Europe and compared with the European average they consume fewer cigarettes, but they have a reserved stance on the potential ban on smoking in restaurants, pubs and at work, a poll conducted by Eurobarometer said today.

The survey asked people whether they supported a ban on smoking in bars. Over 60% of people across the EU said yes, but amongst Czechs – only one-third. The reason for that difference, as I see it, is that Czechs really really don’t like to be told what to do. Czechs think for themselves and they are confident that they are capable of doing so. And on top of that, Czechs do not have a great deal of faith in government, which just might make them the smartest people on the planet.

3 Responses to Smokin’

  1. transloris says:

    At the risk of sounding like a born-again (though I think you know I ain’t one of those, Max, as I don’t think I got uppity about smoking at lunch today), I hope to Christ they at least ban smoking in restaurants in the CR. Even when I was going through over a pack a day I wished they had gotten tough about it here, as they promised to a while back. Czech smokers can be downright insolent when it comes to puffing away while in close proximity of folks who are in the middle of eating. And maybe this is just a Prague 9 thang, but I’ve seen way too many young parents who think nothing about lighting up with their kids in tow.

    Fuck, I miss cigarettes…

  2. Max says:

    If you want non-smoking restaurants, talk to restaurant owners. Smoke-free dining is totally superior. However, I want restaurant owners to go smoke-free because they want to, because their customers want them to, because the market dictates it. And NOT because some dickhead in Brussels or even our own Czech Parliament (a large collection of dickheads) has decreed that they must.

    And parents who smoke around their own children – well, that’s Darwin at work for you, darling.

  3. transloris says:

    Yes, CZ parliament is certainly abundant with corrupt douchebags, but I’m all for a ban, period. I haven’t been a non-smoker long enough to justify trotting out the second-hand smoke argument, so I’ll leave it at that.

    The smoking parents comment was referring to the CTK article – I don’t believe that Czechs are overly considerate smokers when it comes to smoking around kids. At least not in my neck of the woods. Then again, I live in a ‘hood that has been taking on the appearance of a vast landfill over the last few months – I mean, if the folks out in Blackbridge don’t think twice about dumping their garbage by the side of the road (I kid you not), what’s a stormcloud of cigarette smoke around children?

Leave a Reply

