A Sacred Right

land of the free

 

I went out to the shooting range with Jack again last night. It had been 4 weeks since my first session, and I was worried that my initial fear of the gun might resurface. But it did not. In fact, I was pretty comfortable with the Glock in my hand. Jack and I did some different things this time, focusing mostly on defensive action. That meant emphasising speed and shooting at close targets rather than working on accuracy at distances. Not that I would probably be wearing my gun in a holster were an assailant to climb into my 4th floor bedroom window…

After our hour on the range, Jack and I made our way to our regular pub. Shortly after we had arrived and were drinking our first beers, one of Jack’s mates sniffed and said, “I smell gunpowder,” which led to a discussion of where we had just been, as well as a few off-colour finger-smelling comments.

Like Jack, his mate often carries a concealed weapon. That is the main reason I have not used anyone’s real name. There was a limey sitting with us at the bar.

The limey, of course, wanted to know why I was learning how to use a gun. He questioned what I thought I might someday need it for. I say ‘of course’ because this is the standard limey reaction to Americans and our belief in our right to arm ourselves. The Mad Canadian had challenged that belief on my old blog almost 2 years ago. At that time, I asked my brother to answer her; this time, I am going to answer the limey myself.

All Americans know of the Second Amendment to our Constitution. Many of us can even recite it by heart:

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Unfortunately, a big problem in The Amerika today is that too many people have no idea why the right to keep and bear Arms was ever enshrined in the Bill of Rights. Too many people think that private ownership of guns is an outdated concept and is no longer necessary. The limey last night thought we had needed guns only to kill Indians. However, they are all wrong. The absolute undebatable most important reason why we have the right to keep and bear Arms is so that we can protect ourselves from a tyrannical government. And I dare anyone to argue that that reason is any less valid today than it has been at any time in our history.

The right of the citizens to keep and bear arms has justly been considered, as the palladium of the liberties of a republic; since it offers a strong moral check against the usurpation and arbitrary power of rulers; and will generally, even if these are successful in the first instance, enable the people to resist and triumph over them.

– Supreme Court Justice Joseph Story, 1833

There are other reasons for the private ownership of guns. If you are interested in some of them, I suggest that you read my brother’s post. I used some of what I had learned from that post in my argument with the limey last night.

And as the limey was demonstrating his typically Euro-pussy attitude towards guns, Jack leaned over and whispered in my ear, “He would really lose it if he knew what I had on my hip.”

Wikipedia has a good article on the Second Amendment as well as links to many other resources, including the Second Amendment Research Center at Ohio State University.

 

 

4 Responses to A Sacred Right

  1. Same Old A-Hole says:

    Yeah, guns!

  2. Ricardo says:

    I feel it my duty to state that those of use hailing from the British Isles aren’t all ‘Euro-pussys’ in the manner indicated here, although I can’t comment on the limpness od the subject in question.

    And remember kids, it’s guns that kill people, not the fuckwits that actually point them at people, pull the trigger and do bloody murder with them.

  3. Same Old A-Hole says:

    Guns don’t kill people…people with mustaches kill people.

  4. Max says:

    Guns don’t kill people, people with guns kill people. Of course I would trust most guns I know before I would trust a lot of the people I know. But that must be because I live in an atheistic country.

Leave a Reply

