Psychotherapy Max

psychotherapy

 

I had an unusual dream last night. I was being tortured in an immaculate and luxurious prison where I was the only prisoner and all of the many jailers were friends or acquaintances. The torture was distasteful rather than painful, but it was my dream and I do maintain certain standards.

When I woke up this morning, I was feeling poorly, so I cancelled the appointment that I had with a real estate agent to view a flat. Much later in the day, I looked up some of the elements of the dream in an online dream dictionary, and then it all made sense.

I have never previously bought property. I have been thinking about it for over a year – that I can finally afford something decent, that I really should build some equity instead of throwing my rent money away every month – you know, all that sensible stuff. But I am commitment-phobic and I hate the idea of a mortgage and being in all that debt. I also procrastinate very well, hence the overwhelming inaction of the past 16 months.

But everything changed in February when my big gay best friend Jono announced that we were going to buy property together. I was initially surprised, but then I figured out why Jono had come to the decision. He is definitely ready to buy property – limeys are all into owning their homes – it’s sensible, it’s a good investment, all that crap. Jono has told me that he doesn’t want to buy in London because it’s too expensive so he would have to compromise on location, size or quality, or perhaps all three. And now that Jono is living in Paris, he’s fantasising about never going back to live in London anyway. And Prague is his other home, partly because of the city itself and partly because of me. The final reason is that Jono wants to make sure that I do something sensible to build some security, and he probably figures this is the only way he’ll be able to make me do it.

So back to my dream which occurred only hours before I was supposed to go for my very first flat viewing. I was being tortured, and the torture I remember best was being forced to rub excrement all over myself. (In fact, it was odourless excrement.)

Torture To dream that you are being tortured, indicates that you are feeling victimized or helpless in some relationship or situation. Alternatively, you may be exhibiting some sadomasochistic desires.

Feces According to Freud, feces is related to possession, pride, shame, money/financial matters, or aggressive acts. So to dream that you are playing with feces, symbolizes your anxiety over money matters and financial security.

So Jono has taken control away from me (which he really has not) and we have matters of finance. Spot on, obviously. No comment on the sadomasochistic desires.

All of this was taking place in a prison, which was really a chateau with beautifully manicured gardens. It was summer and the sun was shining.

Prison To dream that you are in prison signifies that you are being censored and not allowed to express yourself. *Please also see Jail.

Jail To dream that you are in jail, suggests that you are feeling restrained or censored in your work environment, relationship or situation in your life. You are feeling confined and suffocated.

Prisoner *Please See Convict.

Convict To dream that you are a convict, suggests that some situation or relationship is making you feel restricted. You may be experiencing a loss of freedom in some area of your life.

Okay, so that is all fairly obvious. It’s as if I am being forced to do something that I do not want to do. But I know that that has nothing to do with Jono [reassurance for Jono because I know he will read this]; that is merely my natural resistance to doing anything just because it’s what I should do.

But now to the positive stuff.

Chateau To see a chateau in your dream signifies reward, honor, recognition, and praise for your achievements. It foretells that your future will be a happy one…

Garden To see a vegetable or fruit garden in your dream indicates that your hard work and diligence will pay off in the end. It is also symbolic of stability and inner growth. To see a flower garden in your dream represents tranquility, comfort, love and domestic bliss.

Summer To dream about summer, represents growth, knowledge and maturity. You are showing tolerance and expanding your realm of understanding.

Sun To see the sun in your dream, symbolizes peace of mind, enlightenment, tranquility, fortune, goodwill, and insight. It also represents radiant energy. It is a good omen to have the sun shining in your dream.

I have achieved something and I am finally ready to recognise and reward myself. I have grown and matured and I am ready to accept all of that. I am a financially independent adult and I can invest in property and have a home that is really my very own. And it will all be good, it really will.

The last aspect of the dream was that all of the jailers, and there were dozens of them, were my friends and other people that I know here in Prague.

Jailer To see a jailer in your dream, suggests that you are being restrained in some way, either by your own belief system or by someone.

Friend To see your friends in your dream, signifies aspects of your personality that you have rejected, but are ready to integrate these rejected part of yourself. The relationships you have with those around you are important in learning about yourself.

I think I am being restrained by my own belief system, which up to this point has probably closely mirrored Peter Pan’s. My mature and responsible friends have always frightened me a bit, but now I am finally ready to be more like them.

But of course I was conscious in my dream that my friends had all betrayed me.

Betrayal To dream that you have been betrayed, represents your suspicions about a particular person, relationship or situation. This dream often occurs when you are having feelings of insecurity and are faced with major commitments in your life at the same time.

There we go, major commitments.

One of my friends, who is a chef, came into the dream later than the others. I remember being surprised to see him and that I asked him, “You too?”

Chef To see a chef in your dream represents transformation and changes. Consider what’s “cooking” in your life.

And something that I just now remembered is that my friend the chef has also worked in real estate.

I’ll call that agent back on Monday morning to reschedule.

4 Responses to Psychotherapy Max

  1. Pivobud says:

    Regarding the Feces:
    Do you remember a:
    Bowel Movement?
    To dream that you have a bowel movement, signifies that you are successfully getting rid of your old habits/ways and thinking patterns. It is usually analogous to the release of strong emotions, such as anger and anger.

    Did you have Diarrhea?
    To dream that you have diarrhea, signifies that some part of your life is going out of control or that you can no longer contain your strong emotions.  Alternatively, it may indicate a need for you to get something out of your system quickly.  It may also indicate that you have not analyzed a situation long enough or that you do not want to deal with the problem at all.
    Or were you, as I suppse, feeling Constipation?
To dream that you have constipation, denotes that you are unwilling to part with your old ways. You are continuing to grasp on to your old ways and failing to let go.

    Hopefully, if I were there torturing you, I was drinking a Pivo:
    Beer 
To see or drink beer in your dream, represents happiness, fogginess, or inspiration. It also indicates that you have quite a social life.

  2. Max says:

    Thanks for your help, Dr Pivo. I obviously should have called you as soon as I woke up on Saturday morning.

  3. Evil da Pig says:

    Eh. In my dreams I’m usually watching TV or taking a nap.

    Did they have conjugal visits in this wonderful Chateau Poo Prison?

  4. Max says:

    Not visits as such, Pigman. But some of the abuse in the prison was indeed sexual. As I said in the first paragraph above – it was my dream and I do maintain certain standards.

Leave a Reply

