“One less evil bastard in the world”

south park satan

Falwell’s new housemates

I looked at the news one last time last night before going to bed and the top story on yahoo was that Jerry Falwell had died. People’s deaths do not normally make me happy. After all, I am aware that even people like Jerry Falwell have families that love them and that they love. But in all honesty, the news of this particular death registered as a positive item for me. I sent a text message to inform a couple of friends.

kd responded straight away: “Oh my. One less evil bastard in the world.”

Mikey responded a few minutes later: “Praise the lord and now i will go for a beer because that’s what jesus would do amen”.

And once again I rejoiced because my friends are irreverent godless heathens just like me.

But here is my brief memoriam to Jerry Falwell, a man so full of hate that he probably had bile rather than blood running through his veins. These are the reasons that I am glad he is dead.

Falwell was a racist. He criticised the Civil Rights Movement and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. He supported Apartheid in South Africa.

Falwell blamed me and my friends for 9/11:

I really believe that the pagans, and the abortionists, and the feminists, and the gays and the lesbians who are actively trying to make that an alternative lifestyle, the ACLU, People For the American Way, all of them who have tried to secularize America. I point the finger in their face and say “you helped this happen.”

Falwell simply hated anyone who was not just like him, anyone at all who did not agree with him. He was passionate in his hatred of gays and atheists; he believed fervently in denying women freedom of choice and equality. And he used television and religion to spread his evil venomous views. The world is clearly better off without him in it.

 

 

One Response to “One less evil bastard in the world”

  1. Ricky J. says:

    I couldn’t agree more! When I saw it on CNN, I thought I should get in touch to let you know the glad good news 🙂

    But ,I wonder how many people will genuinely mourn his passing in the US.

Leave a Reply

