Doom and gloom

dali premonition

Salvador Dali – Premonition of Civil War

Something is coming. I’ve had this feeling for the past 4 or 5 days that I am going to die. But I am not going to die. Aside from being fat and smoking and having high blood pressure and a wonky back, I am perfectly healthy. But I am also intuitive and this feeling is the worst I have ever had. Of course feelings like this can come and go with nothing at all happening, but I know that things are at least being seriously considered. The only question is if action will be taken this time, or if things will calm down again for a while.

It finally came to me tonight that this feeling that I am going to die is not actually about me. It relates instead to the whole world.

I have just been reading the news on Stop the Lie and Information Clearinghouse – all doom and gloom, yes, but it’s some of the only news available that tells you what really might be going on.

The war in Iraq is lost, yet we keep going. The “prezident” just signed that directive last month that gives him absolute power in the case of a vaguely defined “Catastrophic Emergency”. The administration is looking for an excuse to bomb Iran, possibly with nuclear weapons. How convenient if we could kill two birds with one stone: a catastrophic national emergency that gives us a reason to attack Iran.

And it’s not just wack jobs coming up with these ideas.

Following revelations of a George W. Bush administration policy to hold Iran responsible for any al Qaeda attack on the U.S. that could be portrayed as planned on Iranian soil, former national security adviser Zbigniew Brzezinksi warned last week that Washington might use such an incident as a pretext to bomb Iran.

Brzezinski, the national security adviser to President Jimmy Carter from 1977 through 1980 and the most senior Democratic Party figure on national security policy, told a private meeting sponsored by the non-partisan Committee for the Republic in Washington May 30 that an al Qaeda terrorist attack in the United States intended to provoke war between the U.S. and Iran was a possibility that must be taken seriously, and that the Bush administration might accuse Iran of responsibility for such an attack and use it to justify carrying out an attack on Iran.

Gareth Porter, Inter Press Service, “Could al Qaeda Attack Trigger War With Iran?

Then there is Paul Craig Robert’s article posted today on Information Clearinghouse: “If You Think Bush Is Evil Now, Wait Until He Nukes Iran”. You can read it here. Paul Craig Roberts is a respected scholar, journalist and academic, and he was assistant secretary of the Treasury in the Reagan administration.

And there is a lot more of that out there.

Earlier today, I linked from Strike the Root to this article, “An Orwellian answer to all our problems”, by Kerry Tomasi on Online Journal, which says everything I have wanted to say about that directive, Homeland Security Presidential Directive/HSPD-20.

I know most people don’t click on the links I post, but maybe this time you’ll consider looking at one or two.

Or go away convinced that I’m the nut job, and wait for me to say I told you so yet again.

 

 

9 Responses to Doom and gloom

  1. Same Old A-Hole says:

    Maybe you’re just off track. Perhapsthis is the source of your dread.

  2. Max says:

    V interesting, Asshole. Thanks for that link. I haven’t read it yet, but I already know that it may help with an upcoming post. Stay tuned.

  3. Max says:

    Jesus, I just read that article. Religious totalitarianism in a nutshell. Sent to me by a nut.

    See you in 12 days!

  4. bob lawbla says:

    Is it worth a million bucks cuz that painting is collecting dust in my basement

  5. celinka says:

    hhhmmm you are now officially the mad american. Lighten the fuck up! toughen up and walk it off.

  6. Max says:

    Celinka, thanks for your support. Fucking Canadians.

  7. DV says:

    This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is it vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished, as the once vital voice of the verisimilitude now venerates what they once vilified. However, this valorous visitation of a by-gone vexation, stands vivified, and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin van-guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition. THE ONLY VERDICT IS VENGEANCE; A VENDETTA, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose vis-à-vis an introduction, and so it is my very good honor to meet you and you may call me V.

    hehe

  8. Jo do says:

    Its is very dramatic and seems a bit gory, People look at that art work and look away cause what they just saw was very gloomy in a bad way, Well from me when I looked at it, it gave me a bad feeling and a wierd tingiling inside. There are those wierdos who look at it and say COOL! But on the other hand it is very good and very creative, I do like how it was made but not the fact that it is very scary.

Leave a Reply

