Max’s weather report

klementinum

I found this old photo of the Klementinum.

For anyone who is not here in Czech – we are in the midst of a heat wave. Czech is warmer than Italy at the moment, and warmer than most of the rest of Europe.

For anyone who is here but can’t read the Czech news – yesterday’s high at Prague’s official weather station in the Klementinum was 37.3°C.

For anyone who does not understand Celsius – that is 99°F. Baking.

Luckily the humidity has been low so it has not really been uncomfortable. At least for those of us who grew up in desert and savannah climates.

As I write from my un-air-conditioned office…

Picture this… because I didn’t have my camera with me on Saturday (or ever):

A chalkboard outside of a pub (U Kozla in Žižkov) – the top half is a picture of an intensely shining sun with “35°C written underneath it. Below that, a picture of a frosty frothy glass of beer with the caption “7°C. Nice spontaneous marketing.

2 Responses to Max’s weather report

  1. niquemg says:

    Cold beer is a good response to global warming, at least in my opinion…

  2. Dane says:

    Speaking of which…

    retroactive beer memory: My family held a picnic for Fathers’ Day (remember that?), and my grandfather was responsible for beer (my dad was responsible for the pastrami). When he sent me into the pantry to fetch the packs he’d bought, I found Czechvar (Budvar, to those not in potential copyright trouble), Pils, and Stella (yes, I *know* it’s Belgian, but it’s still good and served all over Praha).

    I tell you, when beer brings a happy tear to my left eye…it’s a very good day in the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

