On the war in Iraq

iraq wounded child

 

Today whilst reading Strike the Root, I realised why I had not written anything about the war in Iraq for a long time. In fact, I think my last mention was in reference to the Democrats’ appalling performance in passing the Iraq spending bill back in May. And since I have signed up to the One Million Blogs for Peace project, I am supposed to at least once in a while write something in opposition to the war.

Just to make it clear – I am opposed to the war in Iraq and I think the United States and all of its partners, whether coalition of the willing or coalition of the coerced, should pack up and leave immediately.

So the reason I have not written about Iraq is that there is too much material. Which actually means too many lies, too much corruption, and too much evidence of exploitation and overwhelming unconcern for the human condition. “Pяesident” Bush and Darth Cheney and their satanic cohorts don’t give a shit about freedom, democracy or the Iraqi people. In fact, they don’t even give a shit about the American people.

Earlier this week I wanted to write about Bush’s asinine Vietnam comparison. Bush’s knowledge of history is disgraceful. But I never got round to it because it would have involved too much research, I don’t remember Vietnam, and I have a day job. It seems there was a good analysis in the New York Times, which makes me happy because the New York Times has a significantly larger readership than I do.

In the past I have written about the use of depleted uranium, the use of white phosphorus and the abhorrent actions of Americans in Abu Ghraib. I have written about the impending draft and about Sam, a young Marine I knew who died in Iraq.

Today on the radio I heard about a little girl who was collateral damage in a bombing raid and is now paralysed from the neck down and can’t breathe without a ventilator. She is 5 years old. Her mother, brother and grandmother died in the same attack. The little girl, Maria, was actually from Gaza, not Iraq, but the details don’t matter. The consequences are exactly the same.

To most of us, war is merely an unimaginable horror. But today try to imagine your life in a war zone. You have no running water or electricity, you often don’t have enough to eat or clean water to drink. Imagine being afraid of going out into the street, you are living in fear of the military, the insurgents and the counter-insurgents. You fear for your children’s lives. This existence is difficult, even humiliating, but you are surviving. And then one day your house gets blown up, your children are killed or maimed, their young lives destroyed in an instant, and you yourself will now have to live the rest of your life blind, paralysed or limbless.

Leave a Reply

