In support of Ron Paul

 

peter max liberty

Peter Max: Liberty

I have been a Ron Paul supporter since before most people were aware there was a Ron Paul. That might sound arrogant but, to be fair, Ron Paul has only entered the cognizance of most Americans within the last few months. I was just lucky to have friends from the libertarian and anarcho-capitalist camps who introduced me to Ron Paul a couple of years ago.

Ron Paul is a candidate for the Republican nomination for president of the US for the 2008 elections. I could start my argument by saying either that he is not really a Republican or that he is the only real Republican in the running. You could look at it either way. Ron Paul’s yardstick is the US Constitution and his record as a congressman has proved his adherence to his principles. I first quoted Ron Paul on the Real ID Act of 2005 here, I wrote about him more extensively here, and I posted a video and discussed him with Gavin (and had an argument with my brother) here.

I don’t agree with Ron Paul on every issue, but I agree with him on ending the war in Iraq, not starting a war with Iran, the right to bear arms, property rights, fiscal policy, and abolishing the income tax, amongst other things. I fundamentally disagree with Ron Paul’s anti-choice stance, which I think is dangerous to women and personal freedom. Even so, I believe that Ron Paul is a positive force – the only positive force – at that level of politics in the US.

The Ron Paul campaign is in the midst of an internet-based fundraising drive. Today I put my money where my mouth is and made a campaign donation. If you are a US citizen and you value your freedom, you might think about doing the same.

http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

2 Responses to In support of Ron Paul

  1. Dane says:

    What about my freedom of choice, Max?

  2. Max says:

    Like I said, Dane, that is where I do fundamentally disagree with Paul. Choice is a big issue for me too, but frankly other things are of more crucial importance right now.

Leave a Reply

