New Year’s Resolutions

fireworks

I couldn’t remember ever making any serious new year’s resolutions – not for the 1st of January anyway. I was brought up to do that soul-searching and character improvement kind of stuff around the Jewish New Year so I would have done it then. Or being the impatient type that I am, I would never have waited around for an occasion – after all, if you want to make a change, just bloody make it.

But three things inspired me to make New Year’s resolutions for 2008.

The first was a conversation I had with BJ on Christmas Eve. BJ introduced the topic, reporting that he makes resolutions every year, usually a dozen, and always manages to keep about half of them.

The second was an article I saw a few days later on BBC about strategies for success with New Year’s resolutions.

The third was that I drank too much last Friday night, was stupidly drunk when Random Dan arrived from Vienna at midnight, and then nearly missed my plane to Paris on Saturday morning.

I had already been thinking about strategies to cut down my drinking. But they had to be realistic strategies, especially considering that one’s social life in Prague usually revolves around alcohol. And, yes, really, more than in other places. So on Sunday I took out my notebook and started making my rules. Over the next 3 days, this is what I came up with:

New Year’s Resolutions 2008

1) Cut down drinking.

(i) no shots. ever.

(ii) always have a glass of water next to the alcoholic beverage.

(iii) at least 2 alcohol-free days per week (unless on holiday).

(iv) eat properly before drinking.

2) Read a book on health and fitness.

3) Be nicer to people and more intellectually generous.

4) Don’t be so spoiled and petulant – be more flexible when things don’t go exactly your way.

5) Go to Košice.

Notes:

The rules under (1) are because I read on BBC that you should be specific when making resolutions, that vague plans are more likely to fail. And (i), (ii) and (iv) would all have helped me on Friday night.

(2) is something that I have been meaning to do anyway and making it a resolution has made it more of a priority. Yesterday I got a recommendation from Boris and the book is now on order from Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights in Bath. I know Mr & Mrs B.

(3) and (4) are the two that are doomed to failure so they serve to make it statistically more likely that I will succeed with (1).

(5) is because I have never been to Košice and I saw in the in-flight magazine on my sober way home that SkyEurope now fly Prague-Košice.

5 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pivobud says:

    The water next to the beverage is good because it’ll hold the flowers that are drunkenly bought from those random vendors.

  2. Max says:

    Careful, Pivobud, or I’ll make you go to Košice with me.

  3. Monkey says:

    Hey, I wanna go!

  4. aunt cookie says:

    and i resolved to drink more and eat less
    i also have no problem avoiding the temptation of new cars by telling myself i don’t want car payments – i wondered if the same tactic would work with food
    by telling myself i don’t want more fat
    i may have to wait to February to kick start this behavior

    where is kosice?

  5. Max says:

    Košice is eastern Slovakia, all are welcome.

Leave a Reply

