Off to a good start

obama-change1

This is the first headline I have seen in ages that has inspired me to write – as you can see from my complete lack of recent posts.

Everyone was celebrating Obama’s inauguration on Tuesday evening. I was at the big party at Jáma celebrating along with everyone else. But when I was interviewed by a journalist from Lidové noviny, I made it clear to her that I would not believe in Obama until he had actually done something as president to make me believe. I personally was not there to celebrate Obama’s inauguration; I was there to celebrate the fact that George W Bush (that motherfucker) was no longer president.

And on his second working day, Obama has ordered the closure of the prison camp at Guantanamo Bay. Wow wow wow – I may start to believe sooner than I had expected.

6 Responses to Off to a good start

  1. Pivobud says:

    And according to CNN, today, Day 3, he has banned the use of torture while also saying Gitmo is closed within a year.

    Now, if on Day 4 the Recession ends, I’ll be really impressed.

  2. Dane says:

    Day 3 also saw the lifting of the global gag rule, which states that the US isn’t allowed to fund programs abroad that provide abortions or abortion-related counseling. To be fair, it’s kind of a ping-pong ball – Reagan invented it, Clinton repealed it, Bush re-instated it, and Obama’s now just doing what any sane Democrat would do and repealing it again. It’s kind of an easy crowdpleaser move.

    But hey, I’m pleased.

  3. stephy says:

    Baby steps hopefully in the right direction…I hope we still have something to celebrate when I come see you!

  4. niquemg says:

    told you so…

  5. Jarkko says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Instantly Search Millions of Public Records & Resources

  6. The authentic Hoodia item would constantly have the CITES Accreditation. Hoodia being threatened with termination is safeguarded by a UN treaty called – MENTIONS (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Types of Wild Fauna and Wild Flora).

Leave a Reply

