What I have learned from Hugo

Hugo

Hugo

I have now had a puppy for 10 days.  I got Hugo when he was just 8 weeks old, still very much a baby – even in dog time.  I didn’t know anything about caring for or training a puppy, but it’s amazing how fast you catch on.  My colleagues and friends have shared their wealth of puppy experience, and Boris gave me the Perfect Puppy book.  So I have learned to look after my puppy, but – more to the point – I have learned a lot about myself.

  • I do not enjoy having something (or someone) 100% dependent on me.  As much as I adore Hugo, I can’t help resenting him.  I don’t mind getting out of bed at 5am to take him outside – the sun is already up and I love mornings.  I like going for walks and I like him sleeping at my feet whilst I work.  Hugo has even come to pubs with me.  What I resent is my loss of freedom in general because I always have to consider Hugo’s needs and, most of all, that I have only managed to go to the gym once in the last 10 days.  That is not okay.
  • I will never again wonder whether my decision to not have children was the right one.  My experience with Hugo has shown me that I am not maternal.  I don’t have the requisite patience and I am a bit too self-centred, amongst many other less than attractive qualities, I am sure.  I like children and I like puppies – but that doesn’t mean that I have to have one of my own.
  • Hugo has melted my icy heart.  I seem to have regained touch with my emotions over the past 10 days, and I have been willing to show weakness and need, and to ask for help.  And a puppy is not what I need.  Back to the search for a real boyfriend…
  • Watching a puppy learn and grow is wonderful, and the speed at which Hugo is doing both is astonishing.

However, when all is said and done, I want my life back.  I want to get up at 6am and go straight to the gym.  I want to be free to go wherever and whenever I want to go and not need to wait for someone to look after my puppy.  I am sure it would be deeply rewarding to raise Hugo to become a companionable adult dog, but it’s just not for me.

I had had Hugo exactly one week when I realised I would have to consider giving him up.  I took action the next day – posting on expats.cz and starting to tell people.  I am hoping to find people that will give him the love and attention that he deserves within the next day or two.

I am glad to have had my brief puppy-raising experience and I feel my life is a little richer for Hugo having been in it.  But I really am done.

5 Responses to What I have learned from Hugo

  1. Heddy says:

    How spooky. Picked up my new puppy, Herbie, on Friday. He is 8 weeks old.

    So sorry to hear that you’ve decided a puppy isn’t for you, but at least you are taking action to find him a good home. Have you had dogs before? or is this the first?

    I’ve had dogs before but not a puppy. So far it has been exciting but I know what you mean about the restriction on your movements etc.

    Anyway, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you find a good home. It’s a pity I’m so far away as Herbie and Hugo could have kept each other company!!

  2. niquemg says:

    Ok, when can I stop laughing? A puppy? I guess no one told you how dependent they are beforehand. OY.

    I don’t think it has anything to do with you not being maternal, but maybe just picking an animal that needed too much attention. Puppies are like babies, just need care ALL THE TIME. Dogs and people get a little easier to care for as they get older. Maybe you just needed to pick an older animal next time.

    Hope you find a good home for Hugo.

  3. aunt cookie says:

    So sad about hugo! I know sara or I would have been happy to take him. My latest puppy Cisco has eaten an entire carpet and is chewing through my bedroom furniture. I am more of a homebody so it is no great sacrifice to stay at home and snuggle with my dogs. But for the uninitiated having a dog can be daunting.

    Hope you found a happy home with children for him he looks adorable!

  4. Sword says:

    Why don’t you write anymore Max?

  5. Sword says:

    BTW What you’ve lerned about yourself is that you’re a cat person. Cats don’t need anybody. 🙂

Leave a Reply

